Prove your humanity: 10   +   10   =  


The Political Quarterly publishes analysis, insight and informed opinion on politics and public policy in the UK and globally.

We aim to provide access to current academic debates and draw on critical intellectual arguments, but our hallmark is the use of plain English, avoiding theoretical and technical jargon.

We are governed by an independent editorial board and currently published by Wiley Blackwell. As well as the journal, we publish blogs, books, organise political debates and events and sponsor the prestigious Orwell Prize for political writing.

The Political Quarterly is broadly centre-left in outlook, but we publish a wide range of authors and viewpoints. Our current editors are Deborah Mabbett and Ben Jackson.


Leonard and Virginia Woolf

The journal was founded in 1930 by Leonard Woolf, Kingsley Martin and William Robson. Past editors include Bernard Crick, David Marquand, Andrew Gamble and Michael Jacobs. Political thinkers such as John Maynard Keynes, Arthur Koestler, Harold Laski, and Bertrand Russell have also written for us, as well as Leon Trotsky, William Beveridge, Ernest Gellner, Richard Hoggart and Raymond Williams.


%d bloggers like this: